Feature Image

2023 Season Wrap Up

There were thirty-five teams playing in Section V. Bishop Kearney scheduled seven games but elected to forgo the tournament at the end of the season. There were 893 players on the final rosters, up 13 players from 2022. Rush-Henrietta and Victor carried the largest roster with thirty-six players and Haverling, Midlakes-Red Jacket and Waterloo with the smallest with sixteen. 

Pittsford ChampsThere were four classes for the sectional tournaments. Pittsford (A), Victor (B), and HF-L (C) were top seeds and won their championships. In Class D, Penn Yan (seeded second) won their twenty-seventh championship with an 11-6 win over top seeded Aquinas.

Pittsford had a 9-5 win against second seeded McQuaid Jesuit, Victor won their game against third seeded Spencerport 16-6 after the Rangers had a 6-4 win against second seeded Canandaigua. Honeoye Falls-Lima had a close 9-8 win against third seeded Wayne after the Eagles defeated second seeded Pal-Mac in the semifinals.

The teams were able to play a full season again in 2023. The first game was played on March 23rd when Newark beat Watkins Glen 20-0. The last regular season game was played when Bloomfield-Honeoye defeated Brockport 7-6 in overtime.

The 307 regular season games were played and the 141 league games determined the league championships. In Monroe County-D-1 it was Victor (5-0). In MC-2, Spencerport (4-0) took the championship and in MC-3 Irondequoit (3-1) was on top. Wayne (9-0) won the Finger Lakes title and in the GRALL, Aquinas (5-0) was the Champion.


At the end of the year, the Section V Head Coaches selected the post-season award winners including their All-League players. Then, after reviews of over eighteen nominations, they selected six USA Lacrosse All-Americans and five All-Academics. Named All-Americans were Jack Faiola (Canandaigua), Thomas Gravino (Victor), Robert Kinslow IV (Pal-Mac), Sam Ricci (Victor), Preston Steve (Newark), and Mike Valent (Rush-Henrietta).

Named All-Academics were Sam Gotham (Victor), Jackson McEnerney (Livonia-Avon), Andy Mcfadden (Bloomfield-Honeoye), Cameron Mesh (Spencerport), and Ben Steingass (Pittsford).

Spencerport Head Coach Bill Buttaro was named Coach of the Year from Section V and the Bob Scott Award winner was Keenen Edwards from East United-Eastridge.

The Coaches of Section V created a new award this year for the "Official of the Year" which was awarded to GVLOA rules interpreter Scott Maloney.

Victor Champs

The Monroe County Division 1 Player of the Year was Mike Valent (Rush-Henrietta). Cameron Mesh (Spencerport) was the Division 2 Player of the Year and Jack Faiola (Canandaigua) was Division 3 Player of the Year.

Nominees for the Bob Scott Award were Drew Pagano (Schroeder) and Jason Mosher (Hilton) and the Section V and USA Lacrosse Bob Scott Award winner was Keenan Edwards (East United-Eastridge).

The Monroe County Coaches of the Year were Dan Stone (Victor) in MC1, Bill Buttaro (Spencerport - MC2), and both London Booker (East United-Eastridge) and Eric Goodberlet (HFL) in MC3.

Assistant Coaches of the Year were Mark Foeder (Victor) and Matt Gold (Pittsford) from MC1, Marco DeBole (Brighton) from MC2, and Jim Tilotson (East United-Eastridge) and John Herriman (Canandaigua from MC3.

Penn Yan ChampsThe Finger Lakes Players of the Year were Robert Kinslow (Pal-Mac) who was also the Defenseman of the year. Preston Steve (Newark) was the Attackman of the Year, Keagan Hoesterey (Pal-Mac) was named Midfielder of the Year, and Blake Dunton (Marcus Whitman) was the Goalie of the Year. Connor Gorton (Marcus Whitman) was selected as the nominee for the Bob Scott Award.

The Finger Lakes Coach of the Year was Joe Caraher (Mynderse), The Assistant Coach of the Year was Brian Askin (Geneva). The Person of the Year was Craig Ikewood (Pal-Mac).

Among the awards from the Greater Rochester Area Lacrosse League (GRALL), was Player of the Year Jackson McEnerney (Livonia-Avon).

The GRALL Coach of the Year was Terry Corcoran (Aquinas) and the Assistant Coach of the Year was Dan Riordan (Aquinas).  The Person of the year was Joel Rose (Livonia-Avon). 

Pittsford (Class A), Canandaigua (Class B), Honeoye Falls-Lima (Class C) and Penn Yan (Class D) were awarded the Steve Morgan Sportsmanship Awards by the Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Association.

After the regular season, the Section V tournaments were conducted. Pittsford (Class A), Victor (Class B), HF-L (Class C) and Penn Yan (Class D) were the Sectional Champions in 2023.

There were All-Tournament Teams this year and there were MVPs for each class. Selected as MVPs for classes A, B, C and D were Rex Kesselring (Pittsford), Thomas Gravino (Victor), Chase Perryman (HF-L) and Will Thompson (Penn Yan).


The SportsFive/Section V Players of the Year were Thomas Gravino (Victor) in offense and Jack Faiola (Canandaigua) in defense. The Sportsman of the Year was Noah Hezel (Pittsford).

The New York State Tournaments were back in full swing and sectional champions went on to play Section VI champions in the Western Regionals (quarter finals). In Class A, Pittsford beat Lancaster and then lost by one goal to Baldwinsville in the semifinals. In Class B, Victor beat Orchard Park, and then West Genesee to reach the finals where they lost by one goal to Garden City. In Class C, HF-L beat Lake Shore in Buffalo and then lost to Jamesville-DeWitt and Class D, Penn Yan beat East Aurora and then lost to Marcellus by one goal.

The All-Section V Awards were back this year with fifteen first team, fifteen second team, and ten Honorable Mention picks.

At the end of the season at least sixty-one seniors have made college commitments. They will become part of over three hundred players from Section V who are currently playing at all college levels.

    Section V Tournament
Section Five Brackets
Mon - Out brackets Tue = Quarters & Wed - Quarters
Fri - C/A Semis Sat - D/B Semis
Mon - C/A Championships Tue - D/B Championships
Sat - NYS Western Regionals Wed - NYS Semifinals
  Sat - NYS Championships
    Year End Awards
All Americans/Academics Monroe County
Finger Lakes GRALL
Team Sportsmanship

Players of the Week