Feature Image

2021 Season Wrap Up

The East United-Eastridge team, which was joined in 2020 was able to play their first games this season. Bishop Kearney scheduled six games but elected to not play in the tournaments at the end of the season. Midlakes joined with Red Jacket and so there remained thirty-five teams in the section. There were 885 players on the final rosters, down almost 250 players from 2019. Penfield carried the largest roster with thirty-eight players and Spencerport had the smallest with fifteen. 

Fairport ChampsThere were four classes for the sectional tournaments. Two of the four top seeded won their championships. Fairport (#1) beat Pittsford (#3) 6-5 in overtime in Class A. In Class B, Thomas (#3) defeated Canandaigua (#1) 6-5 and in Class C, HF-L (#3) defeated Livonia-Avon (#1) 19-10. In Class D, Penn Yan (#1) won their twenty-fifth sectional title with a 16-2 win against Pal-Mac (#3).

The first game of the shortened season was played on April 29th, when Penn Yan defeated Livonia-Avon 15-5. The last regular season game was played when Canandaigua beat the Mustangs 9-3 on June 5th. The 247 regular season games were played and helped to determine the league championships. In Monroe County-D-1 it was Victor (5-0). In MC-2, Thomas (5-0) took the championship and in MC-3 Spencerport (5-0) was on top. Penn Yan (10-0) won the Finger Lakes title and the GRALL was inactive with some teams included in Finger Lakes schedule (but not in championships or awards).

Thomas ChampsAt the end of the year, the Section V Head Coaches selected the post-season award winners including  their All-League players. Then, after reviews of over twenty-two nominations, they selected six USA Lacrosse All-Americans and six All-Academics. Named All-Americans were Sam Bennett (Canandaigua), Logan Callahan (Victor), Cal Lambert (Victor), Ayden Mowry (Penn Yan), Eric Platten (Canandaigua), and Ethan Ruller (Webster Thomas). Named USA Lacrosse All-Academics were Harrison Cross (Pittsford), Max Ettinghausen (McQuaid Jesuit), Tyler Griffin (Penn Yan), Connor Mesh (Spencerport), Jackson Nieman (Canandaigua), and Connor Winters (McQuaid Jesuit). Spencerport Head Coach Bill Buttaro was named Coach of the Year from Section V and the Bob Scott Award winner was Zahmir JonesHF-L Champs from East United-Eastridge.

The Monroe County Division 1 Player of the Year was Logan Callahan. Ethan Ruller was the Division 2 Player of the Year and Connor Mesh was Division 3 Player of the Year. Nominees for the Bob Scott Award were Jackson Nieman (Canandaigua) and Zahmir Jones (East-United-Eastridge).

The Section V and USA Lacrosse Bob Scott Award winner was Zahmir Jones (East-United-Eastridge).

The Monroe County Coaches of the Year were Dan Stone (Victor - MC1), Rob Ruller (Thomas) and JJ Schembri (Penfield) in MC2, and Bill Buttaro (Spencerport) who was also named USA Lacrosse Coach of the Year.

London Booker (East United-Eastridge) was named MC-d3 Man of the Year.


Penn Yan ChampsThe Finger Lakes Players of the Year were midfielder Mekhi Mahan (Penn Yan), defenseman Tyler Griffin (Penn Yan), goalie Jack Acker (Wayne) and attackman Ayden Mowry (Penn Yan) who was also selected as the Finger Lakes Player of the Year.

Because of the short season and the many quick decisions that had to be made within days, the GRALL teams did not play league games. The lack of a league of their own, left many players with truly extraordinary performances without recognition or awards. In an effort to bring some small recognition to some of these players, we put together, with the help of some coaches, a "SportsFive Independent All-Star Team".

East United-Eastridge (Class A), Gates Chili (Class B), Batavia (Class C) and Penn Yan (Class D) were awarded the Steve Morgan Sportsmanship Awards by the Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Association.

After the regular season, the Section V tournaments were conducted at the higher seeded team home sites. Fairport(Class A), Thomas (Class B), HF-L (Class C) and Penn Yan (Class D) were the Sectional Champions in 2021.


There were no All-Tournament Teams this year (at the request of Section V) but there were MVPs for each class. Selected for classes A, B, C and D were Jackson Monte (Fairport), Ethan Ruller (Thomas), Colt Green (HF-L) and Max Brodmann (Penn Yan).

The SportsFive Players of the Year were faceoff specialist Logan Callahan (Victor) in offense and Ethan Ruller (Thomas) in defense. The Sportsman of the Year was Will Hand (Penfield).

The final games of the year are usually the New York State Tournament but for the second year in a row, the NYSPHSAA chose not to run the tournaments.

At the end of the season forty-one seniors have made college commitments. They will join the over three hundred players from Section V who are currently playing at all college levels.


    Section V Tournament
Section Five Brackets
Mon - Out brackets Wed - Quarters
Fri - C/D Semis Sat - A/B Semis
Mon - Class C Finals Mon - Class D Finals
Tue - Class B Finals Tues - Class A Finals
    Year End Awards
All Americans/Academics Monroe County
Finger Lakes Players of the Year
Team Sportsmanship

Independent All Stars

Players of the Week


From the Gallery