Feature Image

Lacrosse Officials Year-End Awards

At their "Year-End Gathering" the members of the Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Association announced their annual Frank Mangione Award for Excellence award winner.118 Years

The award is given to a person who has demonstrated the highest ideals of professionalism, leadership, passion and above all, respect for the game of lacrosse at any level both on and off the field. Mangione served in many capacities within the organization for more than forty years.

The award, this year, was given to Peter McCabe, a long-time multisport official who has also been greatly involved in promoting sportsmanship. 

There were several special moments for Frank Mangione who after officiating for forty-seven years, is leaving for the south this summer. Beyond working on the field, he held nearly every position within both the original Western New York Lacrosse Officials Organization and the transformed Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Organization including many years as the assignor. In 2001, Frank was inducted into the Rochester Chapter of US Lacrosse Hall of Fame and was the first person to receive the GVLOA award named in his honor.

Frank MangioneGVLOA President, Rob Cantabene presented Frank with the Lifetime Achievement Award and spoke about how, so many people have learned from and been touched by Frank's love of the game.

Section Five Chairman, Mike Simon presented Frank was a Lifetime Achievement Award recognizing his many years. "For your tireless leadership, strength, inspiration, perseverance, mentorship and advocacy to improve Section V Boy's Lacrosse." 

The "annual report" for the organization included: 731 games officiated, 1800 assignments, 102 cancellations and zero games unassigned in 2019. 

Leadership positions were also announced. Rob Cantabene will remain President (through 2021), Brian Cool will continue as Vice President (2020), Steve Nims will continue as Secretary (2020), Steve Young (2021) will replace Mike Mierzwa and the interpreter is yet to be determined. Todd Lenhard will continue is role as assignor and will be joined by Jim Malloy who will replace Frank Mangione. 


From the Gallery
  • 2019 Kettle Moraine at Victor
    Kettle Moraine at Victor
  • 2019 Hilton vs Fairport Champs
    Hilton vs Fairport Championship

19_USLax Inside

19_CA Bank

19_Donations Inside