2011 Post-Season Wrap Up


esg menu

- Section V lacrosse added another team (Gananda) to its roster which now totals thirty-six teams and 1,076 players.Pittsford Champs

The top three seeds won Section V Championships this year with Pittsford's 8-5 win over #2, Fairport, Irondequoit's 18-8 win over #2, Churchville-Chili and Penn Yan's 12-6 win over #2 Bath. Pittsford capped a phenomenal undefeated regular season, the only undefeated team in the Section this year. It was their first sectional championship since 1999. The Eagles, on the other hand, returned for their second championship in a row. Penn Yan returned for their 16th championship, but was a bit disappointed that their win was not against Aquinas, who dethroned them last year.

The first games this year were played on March 26th and the last Irondequoit Champsregular season games were played on May 21st and the 296 games played set up the league championships. In Monroe County it was Pittsford (MC1), Churchville-Chili (MC2) and Brighton (MC3). Geneva won the FL title and Bath won the GRALL title.

A new procedure brought together the Section Five Head Coaches to select the USLacrosse awards. After selecting ten All American, three of them, with outstanding academic credentials were selected as Academic All-Americans. They were Jake Bailey (McQuaid Jesuit), Greg Coholan (Irondequoit) and Steven Cregan (Brighton).

The seven remaining All-American were James Burke (Pittsford), Nick Doktor (Irondequoit), JT Hauck (Thomas), Drew Hays (Fairport, Mike Messina (Aquinas), Zach Reed (Bath) and Ryan Yunker (Churchville-Chili).

Another new procedure led to the selection of "All Section" players. The ten All-Americans were joined by nine others on the first team and eighteen others were selected to the second team.Penn Yan Champs

The Monroe County Players of the Year were James Burke, Ryan Yunker and Steven Cregan. The GRALL selected both Zach Reed and Jake Bailey as Co-Players of the Year. McQuaid Jesuit won the GRALL team sportsmanship award and Geneva was awarded the Steve Morgan Sportsmanship Award by the Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Association.

After the regular season, there are several championship opportunities for teams that qualify. Pittsford (Class A), Irondequoit (Class B) and Penn Yan (Class C) were the Sectional Champions in 2011.

All Tournament teams were selected for each Class. The MVPs for A, B and C were Matt Gold (Pittsford), Greg Coholan (Irondequoit) and Dylan Yonts (Penn Yan).

The SportsFive Players of the Year were James Burke in offense and Jake Bailey in Defense. The Sportsman of the Year was Zach Reed.

The Western Regionals of the NYS tournament were hosted by Section Five at St. John Fisher College. Pittsford beat Clarence 6-5, Irondequoit beat Niagara-Wheatfield (20-7) but Penn Yan fell to Silver Creek (15-8). In the semi finals, also held at Fisher, Pittsford lost to Ithaca (6-5) in a thrilling double overtime game. Irondequoit lost (9-6) to Jamesville-DeWitt (Section 3) who won their second NYS championship in a row later in the tournament. Cazenovia (Section 3) beat Silver Creek (Section 6) 15-13.