Catching Up: NYC Wins Second Empire State Cup


ESCThe four day Empire State Cup tournament concluded Sunday with the New York City team winning their second gold medal after beating Long Island 4-2 in the finals. City goaltenders, Dylan Moser(6s) and Daniel Katzman (7s) were helped by close defensemen John Carrigan and Dom Calistro to keep Long Island scoreless for more than twenty-four minutes.

This was the second running of the tournament which was created as a replacement for the loss of the annual Empire State Games. Organizer, Tony Ventiquattro, announced last week that he intends to continue with the tournament next year irrespective of efforts to revive the ESG in Rochester.

The Western team fell to Central in the bronze medal game after the Syracuse are team took a 7-2 lead at the half. Central dominated at the face off with Andrew Potter winning 19 of 24 and Henry Mann winning 9 of 10. Ryan Cook scored 1g-2a and led the tournament scoring with 12g-7a.

Davis Prince (10g-10a) from Amherst was the high tournament scorer for the Western team who finished with 3 wins and 5 losses. Two of their losses with by one goal (7-6 vs NYC in OT an d10-9 vs Central). Jonathan Perotto (Aquinas) added 7g and Bryan Collister (Greece Lightning) added 4a. Liam Guiton (Penfield) recorded 33 saves for the Western team.

In the consolation round, Hudson Valley beat Adirondack 14-2. ESC winners

An All-Tournament Team was selected this year.

     Joe Licciardi, Midfield, New York City

     Ryan Cook, Central
     Kevin McDermott, Hudson Valley
     Davis Prince, Western
     Matt Raffa, Long Island
     Jason Debenedictis, Long Island
     Matthew Bennett, Central

     Joe Licciardi, New York City
     Henry Mann, Central
     Brian Gaffney, Long Island
     Bryan Smyth, New York City
     Andrew Potter, Central
     Mike Perkins, New York City

     Michael Calvagna, Long Island

     Lazarus Chavez, Hudson Valley
     Michael Ruane, Long Island

     Michael Aronow, Long Island
     John Carrigan, New York City
     Dominick Calisto, New York City
     Nick Nye, Central
     Forrest Hunt, Long Island

     Riley Smith, Adirondack
     Liam Guiton, Western