Lacrosse Officials Create New Awards


Frank Mangione At their year-end gathering, the Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Association (GVLOA) announced two new annual awards. The first award, the Frank Mangione Medal For Excellence, will be given annually to a GVLOA member who had demonstrated the highest ideals of professionalism, leadership, passion and above all, respect for the game of lacrosse at any level both on and off the field. The first winner was the namesake, Frank Mangione.

For over forty years Mangione has served in numerous positions while also officiating lacrosse games. He became a member of the WNYLOA in 1973. WNYLOA later became GVLOA. He served as President twice, and also served a Vice President, Treasurer, Interpreter and Assignor, a position that he currently hold and in which he will continue next year. In 2001 he was inducted into the USLacrosse Rochester Chapter Hall of Fame after serving a a number of their committees. He represented GVLOA on the United Sports Board Council and served as its President for four year.

In order to receive this new honor, nominees must demonstrate great commitment to the game and the Association. They must hold at least ten years of membership and through their efforts, both on and off the field must advance the game of lacrosse with a special commitment to officiating.

Paul WilsonThe second new award, named the GVLOA Lacrosse Achievement Award, recognizes an individual whose work educates through knowledge and through experience the sport of lacrosse for either individuals or groups. The recipient can be an official, athletic director, past player, coach, sports writer or staff member who has provided a demonstrated contribution to lacrosse at any level. Recipients are serious contributors to the game of lacrosse.

The inaugural GVLOA Lacrosse Achievement Award was awarded to long-time coach and founder of SportsFive.NET, Paul Wilson. Wilson started the Pittsford lacrosse program in 1977 and continued as their Head Coach for twenty-seven years. He twice won Section V Class A Championship and advanced to the NYS final four in 1994. He was named a National Interscholastic Lacrosse Association and USLCA Coach of the year three times, NILA-USLCA Man of the year and USLacrosse Man of the Year twice. In 2005 he was inducted into the USLacrosse Rochester Chapter Hall of Fame.

For many year, Wilson and Lacrosse Chairman, Mike Simon have provided leadership for teams and players in Section V.

In 2001 he started the SportsFive web sites, which has grown over the years to include over 4,200 player profiles, 1,200 stories, and 36,000 game stats. In the 2012 season, over one million pages were viewed by people all over the country.

During the Section V finals, GVLOA awarded Steve Morgan Sportsmanship Awards for 2013 to Rush-Henrietta (Class A), Canandaigua Academy (Class B) and Penn Yan Academy (Class C).