2012 Season Wrap Up


esg menu

- Section V lacrosse added another team (Wayne) to its roster which now totals thirty-seven teams and 1,123 players.

The top three seeds once again won Section V Championships this year with Fairport's 16-10 win over #2, Penfield, Irondequoit's 11-9 win over #6, Canandaigua and Penn Yan's 14-6 win over #3 Livonia. Fairport capped a phenomenal undefeated regular season, the only undefeated team in the Section this year. It was their seventh sectional championship with the most recent in 2010. The Eagles, on the other hand, returned for their third championship in a row. Penn Yan returned for their 17th championship.

The first games this year were played on March 26th and the last regular season games were played on May 24th and the 354 games played set up the league championships. In Monroe County it was Fairport (MC1), Irondequoit (MC2) and Churchville-Chili (MC3). Geneva and Pal-Mac shared the FL title and Aquinas won the GRALL title. Irondequoit Champs

For the second year the Section Five Head Coaches met as one group to select the USLacrosse awards. After selecting ten All American, three of them, with excellent academic credentials were selected as Academic All-Americans. They were Eric Fischer (Irondequoit), Trevor Lang (Bath) and Justin Rehm (Penfield).

The seven remaining All-American were Derek DeJoe (Fairport), Gunnar Miller (Irondequoit), Corey Parke (Pittsford), Blaze Riorden (Fairport), Connor Russell (junior, Penfield), Dylan Yonts (Penn Yan) and Nick Doktor (Irondequoit) who was named for the second year.Fairport Champs

Also for the second year, a new procedure led to the selection of "All Section" players. The ten All-Americans were joined by six others on the first team and seventeen others were selected to the second team. "Knowing how many to take is a difficult question," said Section Five Chairman, Mike Simon. "There are so many excellent players in the Section."

The Monroe County Players of the Year were Blaze Riorden, Gunnar Miller and Matt Kasar. The GRALL selected Trevor Lang Player of the Year. Bishop Kearney won the GRALL team sportsmanship award and Irondequoit was awarded the Steve Morgan Sportsmanship Award by the Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Association.

After the regular season, there are several championship opportunities for teams that qualify. Fairport (Class A), Irondequoit (Class B) and Penn Yan (Class C) were the Sectional Champions in 2012.

All Tournament teams were selected for each Class. The MVPs for A, B and C were Pat VanBortle (Fairport), Briele Caples (Irondequoit) and Brandon Maciejewski (Penn Yan).

SportsmanshipThe SportsFive Players of the Year were Gunnar Miller in offense and Blaze Riorden in Defense. The Sportsman of the Year was Matt Condon (Penfield).

The Western Regionals of the NYS tournament were hosted by Section Six at Hamburg High School. Fairport beat Orchard Park in a rare 7-0 shutout, Irondequoit beat Hamburg (10-8) and Penn Yan defeated Silver Creek (14-13). In the semi finals, held at Cicero-North Syracuse, Fairport lost to Ithaca (11-9). Irondequoit beat Jamesville-DeWitt of Section III (8-5) but then lost to Garden City in the State Finals (11-4). Penn Yan beat Homer of Section III (10-8) but lost to Shoreham-Wading River of Section VIII (10-6) for the NYS Championships at Middletown.

Next year, Section Five will host the quarter final, semi final and Championship games in the NYS tournaments.

All Section