2010 Preview: Irondequoit



Click here for an explaination
lastyear offense defense
14-5 10 7

- Irondequoit finished their league season second in Monroe County Division II with a 4-1 (12-4 overall). Their only loss came to Class A Champion Thomas. The Eagles were seeded second in the Class B tournament and lost to State Champion Canandaigua in the finals.

Irondequoit 2009Senior attackman Drew Coholan (All American, D-2 Player of the Year) led the Eagles in goals and points with 56g-18a and will be the most difficult to replace this season. Coholan continues to play at Hofstra. The Eagles only graduated six seniors last year and are returning a vast majority of their roster.

Coming into this season, sophomore attackman Nick Doktor, who led the team in assists with 16g-28a, will be joined by a number of strong players from last year. Seniors Ian Brooks, Erik Kleehammer, Jordan Napirala and Mike Utz will all take on leadership roles this year. Underclassman Emmy Poccia and Matt Wolfe will also be looking to fill key roles.

Overall the offense will be spread out with many different players making the score book. Junior Greg Coholan, who has verbally committed to Virginia, will continue to be a major player. He finished last season with 26g-18a. Ian Brooks has signed a letter of intent to play at Mercyhurst in the fall. Coach Craig Whipple notes that a difference maker for the Eagles will be senior midfielder Justin Buonomo. Coach Whipple writes, "He will be a do everything guy for us and will be strong at the face-off draw."

The Eagles defense is stronger than their offense. Anchoring the defense is two year First Team All League goalie and senior captain Tyler Nash. Nash, who will attend Mercyhurst in the fall, finished last season with 240 saves (67%). He will also have seasoned close defensemen in front of him. Seniors Rick Looby, John Mikel and Ryan Vella will play close defense this season with seniors Dave York and Henry Burton as well as junior Colby Wehner also making contributions to the defense.

Overall the Eagles are looking good. Irondequoit has been in the Section Five finals for the past three years (runner-up in Class B in 2009, runner-up in Class A in 2008, and champion in Class A in 2007). Coach Whipple says, "Some of highlights for the 2010 season will be a strong senior class with very good younger talent chipping in." With the league schedule requiring thirteen games, only three out of league games can be scheduled and Irondequoit has games against Duxbury (Massachusetts), Aquinas and Ithaca.


Top Returning Players:

Ian Brooks 12 M D&C All-Greater Rochester (Honorable Mention-MC-2), All League 1st Team Midfield (MC-d2)
Greg Coholan 11 M D&C All-Greater Rochester (Honorable Mention-MC-2), All League 1st Team Midfield (MC-d2)
Kevin Connelly 12 D All League 2nd Team Defense (MC-d2)
Nick Doktor 10 A D&C All-Greater Rochester (Honorable Mention-MC-2), All League 1st Team Attack (MC-d2), Section 5 (Class B) All Tournament Team
Erik Kleehammer 12 A All League Honorable Mention Attack (MC-d2)
Rick Looby 12 D All League Honorable Mention Defense (MC-d2)
John Mikel 12 D All League Honorable Mention Midfield (MC-d2), Section 5 (Class B) All Tournament Team
Jordan Napierala 12 M All League Honorable Mention Midfield (LSM) (MC-d2)
Tyler Nash 12 G D&C All-Greater Rochester Super 16 (Goalie), All League 1st Team Goalie (MC-d2)
Emmy Poccia 11 A All League 2nd Team Attack (MC-d2)
Mike Utz 12 M All League 2nd Team Midfield (MC-d2)
Ryan Vella 12 D All League 2nd Team Defense (MC-d2)


Top New Players:

There are a number of sophomores and juniors who are expected to step up.