2010 Preview: HFL


 Honeoye Falls-Lima

Click here for an explaination
lastyear offense defense
5-12 26 22

- Honeoye Falls-Lima finished fourth in Monroe County hfl 2009Division II with a 2-3 record (5-11 overall). Seeded fifth in the tournament, the Cougars lost to Brighton in the first round to finish as seeded. After two years coaching the Junior Varsity, Mike Kelly moves up to take over the Head Coaching job from Todd Morgan. Coach Kelly writes, "I am very excited to coach this team. This is a great group of kids that love to play this game."

This year is going to be a transitional season for the Cougars. The loss of their top scorer and their top defenseman will be difficult to replace. Tyler Burgasser has continued his career at Stevens College (playing for former RIT Coach Gene Peluso). He was named US Lacrosse Academic All American last year. Additionally the graduation of leading scorer Bryan Gardner (19g-6a) will be hard felt for the Cougars.

This will be a rebuilding year for the defense. Jay Tallon will start his third season between the pipes. He finished last season with 210 saves. The key defensive players will be seniors Bruce Curwin, Jimmy Burgasser and sophomore Keenan O'Brien.

Offensively the return of Clai Kuhn, Jake Lee and Tommy O'Leary (all named to Honorable mention midfield) will be the cornerstone for the Cougars midfield. Attackman Mickey Allen (HM), Jason Breau, Jeff Roth and Eric Bioke will be joined by freshman Nick Weston. Bioke was named to Honorable Mention list in the attack. Face-off man Jordan Gushue, who was named to Second Team last year, will continue to work at the draw.

Overall, HF-L will have a difficult time in a tough league this season. Monroe County Division II has several strong teams that are all in contention for Sectional Championships this season. With the new league orientation the Cougars could only schedule three out of league games and they will play Greece Arc/Oly twice and Spencerport once.


Top Returning Players:

Mickey Allen 12 A Honorable Mention Midfield (MC-d2)
Eric Boike 12 A Honorable Mention Attack (MC-d2)
Jason Breau 12 A  
Jordan Gushue 12 M All League 2nd Team Midfield (MC-d2)
Clai Kuhn 12 M Honorable Mention Midfield (MC-d2)
Jake Lee 11 M Honorable Mention Midfield (MC-d2)
Tommy O`Leary 12 M Honorable Mention Midfield (MC-d2)
Jay Tallon 12 G 2nd Team Goalie (MC-d2)


Top New Players:

Keanan O`Brien 10 D  
James Spencer 11 M  
Nick Weston 9 A