2010 Preview: Fairport



Click here for an explaination
lastyear offense defense
16-3 4 5

- A 12-7 win over Thomas early in the regular season secured the tie-breaker that gave Fairport the Fairport 2009number one seed going into the Class A Sectional Tournament last season. However, the tournament and season ended for the Red Raiders in an 11-12 overtime loss to second seeded Thomas in the finals. The end of Fairport's season was plagued with injuries including, most notably, goalie Kris Sterzin who was lost for most of the tournament (Sterzin started in the finals allowing 5 goals in 5 minutes).

Regardless of how his high school career ended, Sterzin was one of the top goalies in the Section and will be difficult for the Red Raiders to replace. He continues to play this season at Jacksonville. Also playing college ball this season are Kyle DeRosa (Oswego), Aaron Jones (Hofstra), Mike Lehmann (Northeastern) and Connor Lowe (LeMoyne). The loss of Lehmann at the face-off draw will also be tough for the Red Raiders.

Fairport returns one of the strongest senior classes in the section. Coach Mike Torrelli writes, "With sixteen seniors and thirteen of them going on next year to play lacrosse at the next level, this should be a good year." Offensively the Red Raiders are returning their leading goal and point producer in Brendan Saylor (68g-29a) who finished last season second in goals and third in points in the Section. Joining him in the attack is the leading assister from last season, Martin Manilla (31g-31a). The pair will be joined by Chris Button (32g-12a). All together the starting attack this season accounted for 51% of the Red Raider points last season. Fairport 2009All three have made commitments for the fall; Button will be attending LeMoyne, Manilla will be attending Gettysburg and Saylor will be attending Maryland. The Red Raiders have one of strongest attacks in recent memory.

The midfield for Fairport is very strong defensively with defensive midfielder Andrew Kristy and LSM James Cunningham. Kristy demonstrated his skill on the wing last season and his dedication to the ground ball became a key factor for the Red Raider short stick defense. Cunningham was named to the Second Team All League list last season as an LSM. The graduation of Jones and Lowe in the offensive midfield hurts Fairport but junior Andrew Hays (18g-8a) should step up this season as a contributing midfielder. Also expected to make contributions are Tim Modesti, James Manilla and Stephen Danylyshyn. From the midfield, Kristy (Ithaca), Cunningham (Hobart), Modesti (Providence) and Hays (UNC) have all made commitments for the fall. (Hays made a verbal commitment for the fall of 2011.)

If the Red Raiders have any weakness it might be in defense. With no readily apparent replacement for Sterzin (backup goalie Kyle Hall also graduated last season) the Red Raiders will need to look to new blood between the pipes. However, leading the defensive charge will be senior Ted Knowles (Drexel). Knowles returns with First Team All League honors. Additionally, Sean Caufield is back from knee surgery to help the Red Raider close defense.

Fairport looks poised to make another run deep into the tournament. If they can stay healthy this season and integrate the new blood quickly, Fairport looks to be the team to beat early in Monroe County and Class A. Overall the strength of Fairport's team lies with their seniors. Coach Torrelli writes, "The strength of this team is our Senior Leadership. With Saylor, M. Manilla and Knowles being four year players we will have a great base to lead us as far as they want to go." With the new league orientation Coach Torrelli can only schedule three out of league games and will play Jamesville-DeWitt, Niagara Wheatfield and Penn Yan.


Top Returning Players:

Chris Button 12 A All League Honorable Mention Attack (MC-d1)
Sean Caufield 12 D  
James Cunningham  12 LSM All League MC-1 2nd Team Midfield (LSM) (MC-d1)
Derek DeJoe 10 M  
Stephen Danylyshyn   11 A/M  
James Downs 12 LSM  
Andrew Hays 11 M All League Honorable Mention Midfield (MC-d1)
Ted Knowles 12 D D&C All-Greater Rochester (Honorable Mention-MC-1), All League 1st Team Defense (MC-d1)
Andrew Kristy 12 M All League Honorable Mention Midfield (MC-d1)
James Manilla 11 M  
Martin Manilla 12 A All League 2nd Team Attack (MC-d1), Section 5 (Class A) All Tournament Team
Brian Martin 10 M  
Tim Modesti 12 M  
Chris Reed 12 LSM All League Honorable Mention Defense (MC-d1)
Brendan Saylor 12 A D&C All-Greater Rochester Super 16 (Att), All League 1st Team Attack (MC-d1), USLacrosse All American, Section 5 (Class A) All Tournament Team
Spencer Wright 12 D  


Top New Players:

None Listed