ESG Western Team Released


updated special report - The 2010 Western Lacrosse team has now been announced by Head Coach Jerry Severino.

esg 2010The tournament team consists if twenty players, per ESG rule and Coach Severino has selected four attackmen, seven midfielders, seven defensemen and two goalies. A number of players have had previous experience in more than one position.

In the attack end of the field, seniors Zach Reed (Bath/Hobart) and Klay Heston (Aquinas) are joined by juniors Nick Doktor (Irondequoit) and Derek DeJoe (Fairport). The four are each adept at both scoring and assisting, having combined for 161 goals and 145 assists last spring.

Greg Coholan (Irondequoit/Virginia), Drew Hays (Fairport/UNC), Jordan Frysinger (Corning East/Johns Hopkins) and Mike Messina (Aquinas/Syracuse) are joined by JT Hauck (Thomas), James Burke (Pittsford) and Ryan Yunker (Churchville-Chili/Bryant). Coholan, Hauck and Messina were named to the D&C Greater All Rochester Super sixteen list this spring. Frysinger and Coholan were both named to the Inside Lacrosse Top 50 Rising Juniors list last fall and Burke, DeJoe, Hauck and Messina all played in the Adidas All-American tournament is summer.

Hays and HauckWhile the attack and midfield has only one player from outside Section Five, the defense and goalies feature players from Section Six and Four. Eric Chadderdon (Hamburg/Ohio State) was selected as a USLacrosse All America team member this spring. Eric was an alternate on the 2008 Western team (as a rising sophomore) and received 1st Team All Western New York honors this year. Jake Bailey (McQuaid Jesuit) and Brian Sullivan (Bishop Timon) have both committed to the University of North Carolina, which means that with Hays, three of the eleven 2011 recruits for UNC are playing on the Western team. Sullivan, a 1st team All Western New York honoree, also made the Inside Lacrosse Top 50 Young Gun Rising Juniors list (at #10). Cullen Mangino (Orchard Park) played with Sullivan on the 2010 Under Amour team. Rising juniors Zachary Moore (Corning East) and Marc Pettrone (Aquinas) are joined by senior Colby Wehner (Irondequoit) to round out the long sticks. Pettrone was named to the D&C Super 16 list this spring and played for the Adidas team this summer.

The goalies, both from Section Six, have strong records. Alex Govenettio (Lake Shore) was a 1st team All Western New York honoree and David Scarcello a three year Varsity player from Bishop Timon won all league honors this spring.

The team is coached by Jerry Severino. Coach Severino has been the Head Coach at Hamburg for the last five years has a record of 84-22 and has won the Section Six Championship each of the last four years. The coach has been greatly helped this summer by Offensive Coordinator Chris Tocin (Hamburg Head Assistant) and Defensive Coordinator Chris Stack (Frontier Head Coach).

The workout team consists of the twenty rostered players and eight alternates. The Empire State Games are in Buffalo this year and begin with opening ceremonies on Wednesday, July 21st. Games begin with two games for year team on Thursday and Friday and one game on Saturday. The winners will play for the bronze medal of Sunday morning, with the gold/silver game following.

SportsFive.NET will cover all of the games and will run live blogs for each of the seventeen games. In-depth statistics, game stories and photography will be posted overnight for fans to enjoy with their morning coffee.

2010 Empire State Games Western Team
Athlete School Team Rising Position
Jake Bailey McQuaid Jesuit Senior Defense
James Burke Pittsford Senior Midfield
Eric Chadderdon Hamburg Senior Defense
Greg Coholan Irondequoit Senior Midfield
Derek DeJoe Fairport Junior Midfield
Nick Doktor Irondequoit Junior Attack
Jordan Frysinger Corning Senior Midfield
Alex Govenettio Lake Shore Senior Goalie
JT Hauck Thomas Senior Midfield
Drew Hays Fairport Senior Midfield
Klay Heston Aquinas Senior Attack
Cullen Mangino Orchard Park Senior Defense
Mike Messina Aquinas Senior Midfield
Zachary Moore Corning Junior Defense
Marc Pettrone Aquinas Junior Defense
Zach Reed Bath Senior Attack
Dave Scarcello Bishop Timon Senior Goalie
Brian Sullivan Bishop Timon Senior Defense
Colby Wehner Irondequoit Senior Defense
Ryan Yunker Churchville-Chili Senior Attack
TJ Iuppa Pittsford PG Midfield
Alex Kober Pittsford Senior A/M
Thomas Lipomi Hamburg Junior Goalie
James Manilla Fairport Senior A/M
Matt Scharr Canandaigua Junior Midfield
Nick Smith Canandaigua Senior Defense
Adam Stork Penn Yan Senior Midfield
Chris Swanson Rush-Henrietta Senior Defense