2010 Post-Season Wrap Up


esg menu


-Only one team beat the seeding this year and that was Irondequoit, who as #5 beat McQuaid (#4), then Canandaigua (#1) and finally Thomas (#2) to take their first Class B championship since 2007. The Eagles won 16-13) in the closest game on "Championship Friday". After twelve consecutive titles, Penn Yan, the only team to previous win the Section Five Class C tournaments, was dethroned by Aquinas (16-9). In Class A, Fairport won their first Sectional title since 2002 with a 10-3 victory over Pittsford.

After playing 300 regular season games, and league champions were determined, the post-season awards were announced. Jack Hinderland and Brendan Saylor were named to the USLacrosse All America Team for the second year in a row. Joining them on this year's team were Tyler Brooks-Lambert, Mike Warner, Nick King and Joe Dupra.

Ryan Kommer, Gannon Osborn and James Cunningham were selected as USLacrosse Academic All Americans from Section Five.

Monroe County Players of the Year were Brendan Saylor, Jack Hinderland and CJ Wool. The GRALL selected Jeff Wester as their Player of the Year and Mike Crawford as their Academic All American. Bath won the GRALL team sportsmanship award and Canandaigua was awarded the Steve Morgan Sportsmanship Award by the Genesee Valley Lacrosse Officials Association.

After the regular season, there are several championship opportunities for teams that qualify. Fairport (Class A), Irondequoit (Class B) and Aquinas (Class C) were the Sectional Champions in 2010.

All Tournament teams were selected for each Class. The MVPs for A, B and C were Chris Button (Fairport), Mike Utz (Irondequoit) and Austin Gorman (Aquinas).

The SportsFive Players of the Year were Brendan Saylor in offense and Nick King in Defense. The Sportsman of the Year was Tucker Nelson (Penfield).

It was a Section Five clean sweep in the Western Regionals of the NYS tournament as Fairport beat Orchard Park, Irondequoit beat Hamburg and Aquinas beat Silver Creek, all of Section Six. In the semi finals in Syracuse, Fairport ended Ithaca's eighteen game winning streak and moved to the Championships at Stony Brook where they lost to West Islip. Irondequoit lost to Jamesville-DeWitt, who ended up winning the Class B Championship. Aquinas lost a close game with Corning East who lost to Manhasset in the finals.