2009 Season Wrap Up


esg menu


After playing 299 regular season games, and league champions were determined, the post-season awards were announced. Kyle Van Thof, Drew Coholan, Brendan Saylor, Jack Hinderland, Marshall Johnson and John Linnan were selected for the USLacrosse All America Team.

Chris Topping, Tyler Burgasser, Evan Burley and Matt Girolmo were selected as USLacrosse Academic All Americans from Section Five.

After the regular season, there are several championship opportunities for teams that qualify. Webster Thomas, Canandaigua and Penn Yan were Sectional Champions in 2009.

All Tournament teams were selected for each Class. The MVPs for A, B and C were Kenny Tomeno (Thomas), Deven Alves (Canandaigua) and, for the second year in a row, Matt Osgood (Penn Yan).

Thomas lost to Orchard Park in the Western Regionals and Penn Yan Yan made the "Final Four", where they lost to LaFayette.

Canandaigua won the Class B State Tournament, beating Niskayuna of Section II 10-5 in the finals, held in Rochester. It was the first Class B Championship for Section Five and only the second time a Section Five team won a State Title. (The first was Penn Yan in Class C).

Canandaigua goalie Nick King was named the Defensive Player of the game and Marshall Johnson was named the game's Offensive Player of the game.