2009 Players of the Year Honors

- The 2009 Player of the year honors were announced at the end of the Section Five Championships on Friday.The winners were Penn Yan's Matt Osgood, Canandaigua's Sean Regan and Penfield's Kyle Van Thof.

Offensive Player of the Year

osgoodMatt Osgood - Penn Yan Senior

Penn Yan senior attackman, Matt Osgood was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Averaging four goals per game this year, Matt currently leads the Section in goals scored (84 goals in 21 games) and is currently in the number two position for points in the Section with 108.

Defensive Player of the Year

reganSean Regan - Canandaigua Senior

The senior defenseman, known for his hard-hitting, and smart one-one-play was often assigned to control the Braves best offensive opponent. The two time first team all league defenseman fought back from a shoulder injury early in the season and returned in time to play key roles in games against Penn Yan and Fairport.

Sportsman of the Year

van thofKyle Van Thof - Penfield Senior

A number of high school coaches has complimentary comments about Penfield senior midfielder Kyle Van Thof. Comments included simple behaviors of positive conduct during games, to leadership qualities and encouraging teammates to act in a sportsmanlike manner. In his last high school game he demonstrated courage and commitment, scoring six of his team's seven goals in a quarter final loss to Pittsford.