Pittsford: 2009 Preview


Click here for an explaination
lastyear offense defense
9-9 22 13

updated  - Pittsford ended their league season fifth in Monroe County Division I with a 2-8 record (8-8 overall). Seeded ninth in the Class A tournament the Panthers defeated eight seeded Gates Chili in the first round, however lost to Canandaigua in the quarterfinals. This was the second straight year that Pittsford has defeated a higher seed in the first round of Sectionals.

PittsfordThe Panthers graduated eleven seniors last year with two named to All County teams. Attackman Conor McDermott (1st) is at St. Lawrence and goalie Brendan Green (2nd) is at Ithaca. McDermott led in goals, assists and points for the Panthers last year. Also playing in college this year are Devin Lamb (RIT) and Jason Falk (Potsdam).

The Panthers will look to their 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th leading scorers last season to pick up the place where McDermott left off. James Purpura (17g-10a), Alex Kober (18g-6a), Thomas Rodenhouse (16g-4a) and TJ Iuppa (14g-5a) will all be expected to score goals this season. Coach Andrew Whipple says, "Our offense is young, however many of these players have varsity experience from last year."

Defensively, the loss of Green will be felt. The Panthers will look for help from long stick Justin McLiverty. McLiverty was named to HM last season along with junior Joe Dupra, who is one of the Pittcford Captains and played on the Rochester team that won the Adidas National Lacrosse Classic last summer. LSM Drew Moll will also be expected to contribute. Coach Whipple writes, "We have a strong returning defense with some new comers who will step right in."

Coach Whipple has scheduled out of league games against Frontier, Brockport, Aquinas and McQuaid Jesuit.





Top Returning Players:

Joe Dupra - Def - 11 - MC-1 HM
Justin McLiverty - Def - 11 - MC-1 HM
Thomas Rodenhouse - Mid - 11 - MC-1 HM
TJ Iuppa - Att - 11
James Purpura - Mid - 11 - MC-1 HM
Alex Kober - Att/Mid - 10
Drew Moll - LSM - 12


Top New Players:

Ryan Sullivan - Def - 11
Alex Proper - Def - 10
James Burke - Mid - 10
Christian Cianflone - Def - 11
Matt Gold - Att - 10
Harry Goluses - Goal - 12