Webster Thomas Wins in Class B

-  SPORTSFIVE REPORT:  In the third quarter of the Class C finals Penn Yan proved why they have won 21 Section Five Titles. This year was their sixth in a row and 18th in the last 19 years. Aquinas led for the entire first half, but the Mustangs came back with five goals on heir way to a 9-7 win.

In the Class B finals, Canandaigua and Webster Thomas went back and forth in the first quarter, but then the Titans took off and never lost the lead as the defeated the Braves 16-10.

The newly updated tournament brackets can be found on the Tournament Page or Class A - Class B - Class C.

Canandaigua vs Thomas

Canandaigua vs Thomas

Second seeded Webster Thomas took the lead late in the first quarter and never looked back. The Titans defeated Canandaigua (fourth seed) 16-10. This was only the third time in 10 years that the #1 seed was not present in the finals. The first was in 2010 when top seeded Canandaigua was knocked out by #5 seeded Irondequoit (who won the title that year) and the second was in 2013 when #4 seeded Penfield took out top seeded Fairport (and also won the title). This year the Braves took out the top seeded Churchville-Chili in overtime (12-11), but could not continue the trend of winning the whole tournament.Thomas vs CA

Although the Braves kept in close for a quarter, Thomas scored six unanswered goals to go up 9-3 with 7:48 remaining in the second quarter. The Braves kept the game close and fought back to within three (11-8), but never got closer. The two key players for the Titans were Travis Ford (7g) and Nick Mabe (3g-4a). Both were named to the All-Tournament Team with Mabe being named Class B MVP. Mabe, in addition to his big game tonight, was instrumental in getting the Titans to the Finals. He scored the game winning goal in overtime against Irondequoit in the Semi-Finals.Thomas vs CA

In the first 12 minutes the game was close. Canandaigua scored the opening goal off a slow break with Coron Broomfield assisting Ben Smith-Wilcox 2:08 into the contest. Just over a minute later, Thomas tied the game with Pierce Currie scoring on an outside shot (assisted by Mabe). The Braves took their second lead only 0:44 later when Carson Greene scored with a drive from behind the cage. Greene finished with 2g-3a for the Braves. Thomas scored the next two goals to take their first lead. Travis Ford scored the first of his 7 goals with a drive from the top of the restraining line. Trevor Ford scored next to take the lead with a feed from behind the cage from Currie. Devin Andrews scored with a drive of his own for the Braves to tie the game for the final time at 3-3. Thomas scored two more goals to end the quarter and lead 5-3.

They started the second quarter with four more goals to have six total unanswered and a 9-3 lead with 7:48 remaining in the half. They looked to be firmly in control before Canandaigua scored a couple more goals to end the half. They brought the score closer (11-8) before halftime. Andrews scored three straight goals in 1:20 to take the game from 11-5 to 11-8. In the second half, Thomas scored four more goals to increase their lead to 15-8 before Canandaigua scored again. Scoring dried up in the fourth quarter with each team adding a single goal. Broomfield scored his first for the Braves with an outside shot and Brad Smith scored his first for the Titans off a feed from Mabe (his fourth assist).

In the cage for Thomas, Matt Yonko recorded 9 saves. The Braves split two goalies between the pipes. Brandon Moore and Tim Rice switched multiple times throughout the game. Moore finished with 6 saves and Rice finished with 1. The Titans will move on to the first round of the state tournament where they will face the Section VI Champion. Section VI plays their games tomorrow: #1 seeded Hamburg will face #3 seeded Niagara-Wheatfield at 3:30.

Class B All Tournament Team Named

From Thomas: Trevor Ford, Travis Ford, CJ Battiaglia, Matt Yonko, Nick Mabe (MVP).

From Canandaigua: Devin Andrews, Carson Greene, Johnny DeForte, David York.

From Churchville-Chili: Matt Cobb.

From Irondequoit: Jack Brennan.