Over 70 Alumni Make NCAA Tournaments

-  SPORTSFIVE REPORT:  NCAA UPDATED: With the start of the NCCA tournament this week, we thought it might be interesting to see how many alumni for Section Five were on teams that made the three divisions in the 2017 tournament.

We were certainly surprised to see that seventy-three players and three Head Coaches made the list. There are eighteen players on Division I teams, seventeen on Division II teams and thirty-five on Division III teams. Twenty-three college teams have Section Five alumni and nineteen Section Five teams are represented. 

Rush-Henrietta alumnus, Shawn Nedelin is in his fifth year as the Head Coach at Towson. He won his first round game today against Penn State.We looked hard to find the players, but if we missed some, let us know.

Division I

18 Players - 1 Coach
Maryland Sam Byasse Victor
Bryant Jack Callahan Victor
  James Stoler Penfield
Albany Pat Barrow Victor
  TD Ierlan Victor
  Connor Russell Penfield
Air Force Issac Swartzman McQuaid
Ohio State Lucas Bailey McQuaid
  Brandon Barker Pittsford
  Trevor Hosgins Churchville-Chili
Towson Coach Shawn Nadelen Rush-Henrietta
Penn State Kevin Hill Thomas
  Mitch Schaefer Canandaigua
  Billy Lombardi Aquinas
Syracuse Brad Voigt Penn Yan
  Jamie Trimboli Victor
  Nick Weston HF-L
  Willie Klan Penfield
Yale Ben Reeves Pal-Mac

Division II

17 Players
Pace Blake Balcaen Schroeder
Le Moyne Ryan Cosgrove Churchville-Chili
  Sean Emerson Penn Yan
  Jared Griffin Schroeder
  James Felix Pittsford
  Justin Kesselring Fairport
  Jake Mortier Churchville-Chili
  Luke Bartkoski Victor
  Matt Malone Pittsford
  Tanner Irwin Penn Yan
  Will Pieterse Pittsford
  Zac Cooley Pittsford
  Cole Guest Penfield
Limestone Ryan Maciejewski Penn Yan
Lenoir Rhyne Hunter Savitcheff Penfield
  Jake O`Connor Penfield
Tampa Charlie Cummins Penfield
  Jake Schmidt Irondequoit
  Head Coach Rory Whipple Irondequoit

Division III

38 Players
Cabrini Evan Downey Pal-Mac
York (PA) Tanner Craig Irondequoit
Morrisville State Tyler Catalfano Greece Lightning
  Corey Grace Penn Yan
  Mitch Warren Irondequoit
  Zach MacNeil Canandaigua
RIT Kacin Welch Fairport
  Cam Isaac Thomas
  Shawn Nally McQuaid
  Jake Sproule Penfield
  Steven Ricci Pittsford
  Jay Vakiener Fairport
  John Hill Thomas
  Nick Binnert Rush-Henrietta
  Matt Streit Schroeder
John Carrol Jackson Twomey McQuaid
  Ryan Crater Fairport
  Dan Smith Fairport
  Dan Biron Fairport
  Kyle Lake Pittsford
Nazareth Colin McElligott Spencerport
  Joe Fisher Gananda
  Parker Lawrence Brighton
  Cory Mason Victor
  Jonathan Olbrich Aquinas
  Griffin Avery Pittsford
  Jason Partridge Rush-Henrietta
Cortland Eddie Eddington Geneva
  Dylan DeLorme Fairport
  Chris Cottom Spencerport
  Eli Kenny Irondequoit
  EThan Parks Penfield
Stevenson Head Coach Paul Catabene Irondequoit
St. Lawrence Billy Cooper Pittsford
  Zachary Ettinghausen McQuaid
  Michael Gigantelli Pittsford
Plattsburgh State Daniel Bonafede Churchville-Chili