Other National Awards

- US Lacrosse is the sponsor of the annual All American awards which is only one of the award categories sponsored for scholastic participants by the national organization.

Lacrosse "areas" which in Section Five relate to leagues, petition US Lacrosse for "recognition". An area can be defined in different ways in different parts of the country. For example, in a State with very few lacrosse teams might be an area for consideration. In a place, like central New York, with many teams, a league might serve as an area.

The national awards other than All American are:

  • All-Academic
  • Head Coach of the Year
  • Bob Scott Award



All-Academic awards are given to players with high academic credentials who are also stand-out lacrosse players. A player may not win both All American and Academic All American awards in the same year. See more detail here.


Head Coach of the Year

"This award honors those Head Coaches in each area from both the men’s and women’s game who exemplify the ideals of the game of lacrosse. The award is intended to recognize the individuals overall coaching performance and contribution, not just coaching wins - although they may be considered."


Bob Scott Award

"This award recognizes a player in each Area who goes above and beyond in service to his team, school, and community. This player exemplifies the fundamentals of lacrosse, works hard to improve his game and is a leader both on and off the field. 2013 will mark the first year a player from each region (North, South, East and West) will be recognized and honored with the Bob Scott Award. Each of these award winners will be finalists for the National Bob Scott Award, which will honor the national high school player of the year." More on Coach Scott can be found here.