New York State Tournament Structure

- After each participating section has determined their champions, games are conducted by NYS to crown State Champions in classes A, B and C.The location of the games change from year to year to give different sections the opprtunity to host games.

NYS tournament map

There are five groups as demonstrated on the map to the left.

Western: Sections 5 and 6
Central: Sections 3 and 4
Lower State: Sections 1 and 2
Long Island: Sections 8 and 11
Out bracket: Sections 9 and 10

There are no teams playing in Section 7

Round 1 - Out bracket Games 
There are a very few teams playing lacrosse in Sections 9 and 10. As of 2009 Sections 3, 4 and 10 take turns playing in the out bracket round and Sections 1, 2 and 9 take turns playing in the out bracket down state. The Western region (Sections 5 and 6) and the Long Island region will no longer play in the out bracket rounds.

Round 2 - Regional Games
Four Regional games for each class will be played in what some call the State Quarterfinals. The Western Regional Championship games are played between Sections 6 and 5.In other parts of the State, Section 3 and 4* will play for the Central Championship and Sections 8 and 11* will play for the Long Island Championship. Sections 2 and Section 1* for the Lower State Championship.* Depending on the year, Section 9 plays for the Lower State Championship if they win in the out bracket games and Section 10 plays for the Central Championship if they win their out bracket games.

Round 3 - Semi Final Games
The East/West Championships are played in each class. The Western Regional Champions will play against the Central Champions and crown the Upstate Champions.The Downstate Championships are determined as the Lower State Champions play the Long Island Champions.

Round 4 - New York State Championships
The last games crown the New York State Championships for each Class.