Feature Image

Fairport Signs Six NLIs

Fairport celebrated as over a dozen student-athletes signed National Letters of Intent to study and play at Division I or Division II schools. Among the group were six from the boys lacrosse team: Tanner Soudan (UMass Lowell), Nick Krug (Delaware), Jake Knapp (Air Force Academy), Klay Stuver (Cornell), Alex Nicastro and Gavin Ingalls who will move on to Mercyhurst.

Defenseman Fairport NLI Signing Tanner Soudan will start his third year on the varsity this spring. He signed his NLI to the University of Massachusetts-Lowell. Last spring he was named first team All-League (MC-d1) and to the All Section Five second team. He follows his father who also went to UMass (Amherst).

The University of Delaware signed senior defenseman Nick Krug. He earned second team All-League honors (MC-d1) last year. Blue Hen head coach Ben DeLuca is a Rochester native who played at McQuaid Jesuit. After stints at Harvard, Duke and Cornell, Coach DeLuca will start his third season this spring.

Jacob Knapp was one of the first of the group to commit as he chose an appointment to the Air Force Academy and started his process earlier than most. The face-off midfielder won 216 draws last year (64%) and scored ten points. Jake was named to the Class A All-Tournament team and second team all-league (MC-d1).

Fairport NLI SigningMidfielder Klay Stuver signed his NLI for Cornell. He will start his final year with Fairport with 99g-30a after a junior year that saw him contribute a team leading 53g-16a. His efforts earned him first team All-County (MC-d1), first team All-Section Five and AGR super 16 lists. Section Five Alumni at Cornell include Ryan Maloney (Victor), Garret Ruff (HFL) and Chayse Ierlan (Victor). Head Coach Peter Milliman (Brighton) is also a Section Five native.

Senior attackman Alex Nicastro is headed to Mercyhurst University after his third and final year at Fairport. He will start the season with 22g-16a. Also signing for Mercyhurst is face-off midfielder Gavin Ingalls who will also start his third year on the Varsity (with 27g-10a). Gavin was named to the second team All-County (MC-d1) list.

Mercyhurst has ten Section Five alumni on the 2020 roster including Ben Smith-Wilcox (Canandaigua), Justin Sale (Irondequoit), Nicholas Mabe (Thomas), Shawn Doran (Hilton), Matthew Sherman (Irondequoit), Brett Olney (Irondequoit), Patrick Carrozzi (Victor), Ryan Ter Haar (Churchville-Chili), Quinn Simonson (Irondequoit) and Steven Katz (Thomas). Alex and Gavin will be joining Zach Boyatzies (Hilton)and Shea Newell (Victor) after this season.

From the Gallery
  • 2019 Thomas at Canandaigua
    Thomas at Canandaigua
  • 2019 Wayne at Pal-Mac
    Wayne at Pal-Mac

19_USLax Inside

19_CA Bank

19_Donations Inside